Why it’s good to be a GEMINI Girl! – KW Girl Expo

GEMINI Model’s is excited to announce the KW Girl Expo – It’s Good to be a Girl! taking place Sunday June 5, 2016 at Pearl Waterloo.FINAL--eblast--8.5-X-11-POSTER-

The KW Girl Expo will include 2 Fashion Shows featuring graduates of the GEMINI Academy, local retailers, shopping & show exhibitors, lips & lash bar, a fun photo booth and amazing door prizes!  GEMINI has consistently hosted over 500 guests annually and this year they expect that number to grow!

This year, GEMINI has chosen to support the KW Princess Project, a local community based charity established in 2011 as their charity of choice.  They welcome all attendees of the KW Girl Expo to bring new and gently used prom, semi-formal and graduation dresses as well as footwear and accessories to be donated to the charity.   The KW Princess Project donates these items to young women in our community who could otherwise not afford them.

Our focus of the KW Girl Expo is to show the female youth in our community why it’s Good To Be A Girl!   During class, we asked our students one question. What does it mean to be a “GEMINI Girl”. In less then an hour, one of our GEMINI Academy teen students wrote this inspiring piece.  Thank you to Emma B for allowing us to share your words!

Why it’s good to be a GEMINI Girl!

DSC_1324-TUES-Emma B-bw
GEMINI Academy Student & Guest Blog Writer: Emma B

Many people ask me “What’s the point of being a model?” or “Do you want to be a model in the future?” I’ve never been able to answer those questions without some hesitation, because you aren’t technically ‘being a model’ when you join GEMINI, you’re ‘being a GIRL’.  The GEMINI Academy has opened so many doors in my life and I think it’s important to share my thoughts in this blog.

Growing up, I was never good at making friends.  But when I started going to GEMINI, I saw that I was slowly making NEW friends every class. From the first class where I was so shy and didn’t know anyone, until now at the beginning of the third term, I know everyone’s name! I’m also no longer shy to ask them questions like “Does this accessory match this top?” or “What are we doing this class?” … because I’d always lose my binder.

In my first year of going to GEMINI, when I was around 8 years old, I thought I wouldn’t be accepted. Some girls already knew each other so I thought they might like other girls more than me.   I then came to a conclusion later on in that semester, that this thought in my head was incorrect.  Going to GEMINI, was like being around another family. I was always excited for Tuesday night to come because I knew I’d get to see my new friends once again. Just thinking of going back to GEMINI brought the brightest smile to my face, and it still does!

Before writing my blog, I asked two students in my Tuesday class at GEMINI to be interviewed with two different questions:

  1. “What is the main reason you enjoy GEMINI?” One responded – “I enjoy the fun and the activities we always do, and also the positive and bubbly energy that Miss Meaghan always shows during our classes”.

I asked another girl:

  1. “Do you think that going to GEMINI ever changed your life or how you were before?” She responded – “Before I went to GEMINI, my self esteem level was quite low based on the media’s portrayal of women and girls. When I was 8, it was my first year at GEMINI and the exposure to other girls my age with the same issues helped me improve my self-esteem. The environment at GEMINI was a big change because of the staff members and their accepting nature”.

My teacher at GEMINI has always been Miss Meaghan although I have had many amazing teachers in my past. I feel she is my favourite teacher I’ve had in my short life. Over this past school year in the first two semesters plus the third one we are now being introduced with, she has always been one to help girls who need it. If someone is feeling down, or having a bad day, you can always count on Miss Meaghan to be there. She always makes sure everyone is included, and she really only had one rule I’ve never heard a teacher say in my schools in the past … “have fun”!

Hearing those words first come out of her mouth, made me feel so much more confident about myself.   I am very thankful to have Miss Meaghan as my GEMINI teacher.

As for our student teachers, they have always been so nice. And the thought that they come to GEMINI once a week or more, and balance school work (if they’re in school) plus a social life, I find very impressive. I also find it inspirational that they would be able to balance all that stress.

To the conclusion of my blog, I have many happy memories of my only two years of coming to GEMINI back in my mind, making me laugh to myself. I feel like GEMINI, has opened more windows, got me off my browsing position and on the treadmill with heels on, silently hoping I won’t fall.  I’ve learned to have better posture, learn to do a smoky eye, make sure I don’t cry while putting on my fake eyelashes, but there is one question I haven’t fully answered.

Why IS it good to be a GEMINI girl?

Throughout this blog, I’ve been trying to figure that out. That’s when I just lit up like a light bulb. It’s good to be a GEMINI girl, or just a girl, because you can be you, and no matter what, no one can take that away from you.


We could not agree more with Emma!  Thank you for allowing us to share your words with our bloggers!

Don’t miss out on this great event! Doors open at Noon. Show Times are 1:00pm and 3:00pm.  $15.00 + hst per ticket.  Tickets to the KW Girl Expo are available at KW Girl Expo Tickets or at Conestoga Mall Guest Services.



Leave a Reply

