Channer’s Fashion for Ovarian Cancer Research – Oct 23

OvarianCancer2013Let’s Make Cancer History! 

Did you know that approx. 2 in 5 Canadians will develop cancer in their life time? There is a very large chance that you might even know someone right now who has been diagnosed, survived or lost their battle with cancer.  It touches each and every one of us in a different way.  This is something that is very close to the heart of the owners at Channers in Uptown Waterloo.

Ovarian cancer is one that is tricky to detect because the signs and symptoms are the same as those pains that effect most women in their day to day lives (sore back, bloating, fatigue, etc…) In an aid to bring awareness, and raise money, Channers has decided to hold a fashion event.  There will be three different guest speakers including an oncologist, Dr. Akira Sugimoto, a survivor and a women who lost her mother to this disease.

GEMINI Models is honoured to be a part of this heartwarming event.  We are excited to announce that GEMINI’s very own – Audrey Wilson (President & CEO of GEMINI) and Laurie Cadman (Model Booking Manager) will be modelling in the show.

Tickets to this event are $75 where you will enjoy a fashion show and auction. Please call 519-888-9888 or email to purchase/ get more information.

If you are unable to attend the event, or are just looking for another way to donate – here is another amazing opportunity:

An inspiring story by fifth grader Cleo, click the link to donate/ read more:

Cleo’s Haircut/ Donation

My name is Cleo Graves. I’m in Grade 5 and I’ll be turning 10 soon. I’m crazy about soccer and I’ve played for the Waterloo United for the past two years. I also love to do crafts and play with my friends.

I love having long hair. I think it must be sad for people to lose their hair when they have cancer. I’m donating my ponytail at the Channer’s Waterloo ovarian cancer fundraiser on October 23rd so that someone can have a nice wig to wear while they are sick. I donated my hair once before but this is the first time I’ve done it as a fundraiser. I hope that you can help out and donate to help people with cancer.

The money I raise through my hair cut will go directly to help fund ovarian cancer research.

For more information on ovarian cancer, click here: 

Leave a Reply

